Doing what you like is freedom… Liking what you do is happiness!

décembre 7, 2013 § Poster un commentaire

Several years ago, as i was working like a dog in London, my then girlfiriend gave me this book « The power of now »  by Eckhart Tolle. I wouldn’t go as far as saying that this book changed my life but it certainly made a strong impression on me.

I must say that previous readings had already put me on the path. Books like Hesse’s Siddartha and Sartre’s existentialism had already planted a seed.

But my situation then and the reading of this book triggered a more practical reaction. Here i was, spending my days working senselessly, hoping to make a situation for myself, when the book was pointing at the exact opposite direction: living the moment. I started to question this constant « big city hustle » we all know too well and decided to start « to let it go ». I shifted my focus from « becoming somebody » to taking time to get involved in things that truly meant something to me: playing music, NGOs or creative coding and just generally creating more. This shift from « producing » to « creating » has had a deep effect on me.

I realized I could do things not out of necessity, but rather because i really wanted to. That’s when i started to feel the real sense of « freedom » Sartre was talking about. Instead of crafting a perfect image of myself, i started to let my ego go towards a more « genuine » self.

And here I am now, struggling in this maze maybe, but not « hustling » anymore. And though this might seem flawless common sense on paper, it’s not an easy thing to do everyday… As the saying goes: « It’s simple to be happy… But being simple is more tricky! »

Laisser un commentaire

Qu’est-ce que ceci ?

Vous lisez actuellement Doing what you like is freedom… Liking what you do is happiness! à U spagnolu.

Méta

